Development of the Board of Management in LCC

Luttrellstown Community College (LCC) started out under the patronage of County Dublin VEC then following new legislation in 2013 a merger of VECs placed LCC under the patronage of Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Education Training Board. Mr Paddy Lavelle is the CE of DDLETB. The ETB agrees representatives from their board and from the community to represent and maintain good governance on their behalf through the Board of Management of LCC. The school Board of Management also has three community representatives, two parent representatives, two teacher representatives. This fulfils a maximum board of ten members. The Príomhoide acts as secretary to the Board. The Chairperson of the current Board is Mr Kieran O Neill.

The Board has carried out all the usual functions of boards of management professionally and efficiently. The Board meet on at least five occasions in the school year. Each year the Board works on major school policies including the development of a joint Admissions Policy with C.C.C. and also L.C.C.’s Health and Safety Policy.

The school building project was the other key topic for discussion over the years. LCC went through some stressful times negotiating troubled waters with regard this project. A subcommittee of the BOM was set up to discuss the difficulties with senior politicians in D.15. The CEO of County Dublin VEC attended meetings with members of the BOM and with the DoES and Fingal Co.Co. Phase One of the build for a population of 650 students was delivered for August 2013. Much work was also carried out in relation to temporary accommodation on the site to provide a fully resourced educational facility for students and teachers.

Other school developments included curriculum development e.g. providing Transition Year in 2012 for students. The partnership between Parent Student and Teacher Councils developed greatly during the development of TY. This partnership of our three Councils with the Board of Management has grown from strength to strength. A major recent project between all was the research and development of the use of technology in LCC. This is an ongoing project and the review of our iPad initiative will be led by the Board in the second term.

Board members are hugely committed to LCC and support teaching and Learning through active involvement at Board level. Their support and guidance is greatly appreciate by me as Príomhoide.

The current membership of the Board of Management of Luttrellstown CC is as follows:

Luttrellstown CC BOM 2018

DDLETB Nominees:

  • Cllr Eithne Loftus
  • Mr. Michael O’Donovan
  • Mr. Joe Pitcher
Community Nominees:
  • Mr. Kieran O Neill, CHAIRPERSON
  • Louise Wall Feehily
Teacher Nominees:
  • Mr Alexander Markovic
  • Mr Gareth Mahony
Parent Nominees:
  • Svetlana Hensman
  • James Ryan

Secretary to the Board: Fionnuala Ní Chaisil (Príomhoide)

email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.